Court Services

PassaicBuildingThe Bureau of Court Security is located at 77 Hamilton Street in City of Paterson. The main complex consists of four adjoining buildings including the County Administration building and several ancillary buildings throughout the County.

The Bureau of Court Security division is headed by Chief Daryl Walton, who is responsible for maintaining the security of the Court, its supporting judicial facilities, and the people who take part in court proceedings, programs, services and activities throughout the courthouse complex. The safety of thousands of people, including judges, lawyers, jurors, litigants, witnesses, judicial staff, press and the public, must be maintained to allow them to carry out their daily activities. The Court Services Division is also responsible for maintaining order in courtrooms, waiting areas and all other court premises. Sheriff Officers also effect arrests and respond to all types of emergencies including but not limited to medical, fire and bomb threats.

There are twenty one Superior Court Judges assigned to the Superior Court complex, seven judges presiding in the Family part, six judges, presiding in the Civil part and eight judges presiding in the Criminal part. Sheriff's Officers are stationed in all courtrooms. Every month in excess of one thousand inmates are transported from the Passaic County Jail and Juvenile Detention Center to secure temporary holding cells located at the court complex. These inmates are brought to the court complex for various judicial proceedings